Cricket Australia announces largely unchanged men’s squad for Sri Lanka tour

Australia has found the consistency long craved in Test cricket, with a virtually unchanged squad named for this year’s tour of Sri Lanka.

Selectors on Friday unveiled their 16-man squad for the two-Test series in June and July, with only Marcus Harris and Michael Neser missing from the larger group that toured Pakistan.

It means Scott Boland retains his place as Australia’s back-up seamer, with Jhye Richardson missing out again.

Australia tasted Test series success in Asia for the first time in a decade in March and April, beating Pakistan 1-0 in a three-match contest.

Australia will play three T20 internationals, five One Day Internationals, and two Test matches in Kandy, Colombo, and Galle throughout June and July.

While some players, like Harris and Richardson, will miss out on the Tests, they will instead feature in an Australia A tour of the country comprising two one-day and four-day matches.

Marcus Harris missed out on initial selection but will join an “Australia A” squad for the Sri Lanka tour.(Getty Images: Quinn Rooney)

That squad also includes the likes of Peter Handscomb, Tanveer Sangha, and up-and-coming opener Henry Hunt.

“This is the first time a tour of this scale has been possible since the Ashes in 2019,” chief selector George Bailey said.

“That could be from a Test or white-ball preparation perspective or an opportunity to impress at an international level.”

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.