Sam Kerr wins presitgious Football Writer’s player of the year award alongside Mo Salah

Sam Kerr has been named the Football Writers’ Association’s women’s Footballer of the Year for her incredible WSL season with Chelsea.

Kerr has scored 18 goals in 20 games for Chelsea this season as the Blues continue their charge towards the title.

The Matildas star was honoured alongside Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah, who was named the men’s Footballer of the Year for the second time.

Salah won the award in 2018 and has been an integral part of the Reds side who are hot on the tails of Manchester City at the top of the Premier League table.

Kerr won 40 per cent of the overall vote, beating Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema and Manchester City’s Lauren Hemp.

Salah claimed 48 per cent of the vote, winning ahead of Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and West Ham’s Declan Rice.

Kerr has scored 18 goals in 20 games so far this season.(Getty Images: Steven Paston/PA Images)

“Both Mo and Sam have been outstanding this season, breaking records for both club and country,” FWA chair Carrie Brown said.

“As well as their performances on the pitch, they are leaders and standard bearers of excellence at their clubs and respective leagues.

“The fact they have won by such convincing margins underlines just how impressive they have been this season which has been recognised by our members.”

Kerr and Salah will formally receive the prestigious awards at an event next week.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.